Un avant-goût du monde – continued

Yesterday was interesting, where to begin.

I met the boy who went to France last year. He and the exchange student from Toulouse gave me some “insightful knowledge“.

  1. Sweatpants are a no – along with sneakers and anything that isn’t name brand.
  2. Blondes like myself are rare, which adds to their theory that I will get approached by scary men.
  3. Teens pretty much roam whenever and wherever they want.

Anyway, all these kids, going and coming, must have some single unifying factor.

The group I was with, maybe a microcosm of what exchange students truly are, maybe a fluke; made me question what the one thing that we all have in common is. Maybe it’s a chromosome, or maybe it’s  just the human desire to explore. Regardless, within an hour everyone was getting along, joking, and mutually trying to avoid any heavy lifting. These kids, some had been abroad, some are abroad, and some are yet to be abroad, all had something in common.

Every kid was light-hearted, mildly sarcastic, outgoing, and inquisitive.

Overall, lovely.

I also made friends with an American girl who went to Salzgitter last year. She was quite friendly and we got along well.

What struck me about her was when she was talking to the German boy who is here this year, I could not have told you which one was from Germany. Of course, I know no German, but they both spoke effortlessly.

I feel like I will never be at that point of fluency.

I can dream though.

3 thoughts on “Un avant-goût du monde – continued

  1. Pingback: (50) Days of Studying Abroad. | 3805miles

  2. Salut. That’s reassuring to hear- I really didn’t believe him! My high school has an international friendship program that is funding me completely. I don’t think it is a specific program like AFS. Fluency would be a dream come true- being able to communicate is really all I’m hoping for (fingers crossed). Merci!

  3. Salut! I’ve never been to Toulouse, but I’ve always heard good things about Southwest France. You’ll have so much fun! And the thing about sweatpants… so true! You’ll never be able to get away with casual wear unless you are literally going to or from a gym or park to work out. What exchange program are you going with?
    And the fluency – French is a very difficult language, but you can get pretty darn close to fluent after living a year there. Ironically, I achieved fluency the second time I was abroad, even though my second stay was half as long as my first.

Leave a Comment